President Biden approved Governor Gavin Newsom’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration due to the California wildfires. The request’s purpose is to help people impacted by the Dixie and River fires, but could be extended to additional fires once damage assessments are conducted. Eligible programs under the declaration can include housing assistance, food aid, counseling, medical services, and legal services. It also allows for public assistance to help state, tribal, and local governments with ongoing emergency response and recovery costs.

Disaster Declaration Process Explained

A disaster is declared in the following steps:

  1. The state identifies a disaster.
  2. A damage assessment is made.
  3. Officials review the damage and determine the impact.
  4. The governor decides if the state has the resources to properly respond to the situation.
  5. If additional resources are needed, the governor determines the type and amount of federal assistance needed.
  6. The state, tribe, or territory submits a major disaster declaration request.
  7. The president reviews the request and determines whether the state and local governments will need federal assistance to recover.
  8. A disaster is declared.
  9. When the request is approved, FE

We Will Rebuild, photo by Christopher Briscoe on Unsplash

Where to Find Help

If you or your business has been impacted by the disasters in this declaration or other perils, follow the link below to see if qualify for assistance.


Leave a Reply